OrKidstra

Ottawa Symphony Orchestra

Programs - Introductory

Introductory | Strings | Winds | Harp | Percussion
Ottawa Junior Youth Orchestra | Ottawa Youth Orchestra

Preschool Music I & II

pre school

Classes for children ages 3 and 4 are designed to nurture the musical creativity and confidence of the young child. Includes songs, games, movement activities and use of rhythm instruments .

Preschool Music I is tailored for 3 year olds. The
program builds from the child’s natural musicality and incites curiosity in musical experiences, setting the stage for musical growth. Preschool Music II is meant for the 4 year-old child and builds on Preschool Music I, with more challenging musical activities – and greater musical growth. (Note: limited to 10 per class.)

Preschool Music I: Saturdays 11:00-12:00
Preschool Music II: Saturdays 9:45-10:45

Preparatory Music I

prep music I

Geared to the curiosity and wider experience of the young school-age child (age 5). Classes include songs, games, rhythm ensembles, musical notation and history.

Preparatory Music 1 offers a continuation of Preschool II where 5 year olds refine their musical knowledge and abilities using speech, rhythm, percussion instruments and movement. (Note: limited to 10 per class.)

Saturdays 10:00-11:00

Preparatory Music II

prep 2

The basic elements of music are taught using speech, rhythm, movement and improvisation. A good bridge for those children (aged 6-8) interested in the future study of a musical instrument. Also teaches group skills necessary for participation in musical ensembles.

Preparatory Music II is another step in the "Early Initiation" ladder, providing our 6 to 8 year-olds with more exciting challenges and satisfaction along the same lines as Preparatory Music I but with more advanced musical practice.

(Note: limited to 10 per class.)

Saturdays 11:00-12:00

Beginner Strings

beginner strings

This program introduces children ages 6-7 and ages 8-12 to stringed instruments, and explores the basic elements of music through singing, speech and movement. Students must provide their own instruments.

(Note: limited to six per class.)

Saturdays 8:40-9:40

Beginner Double Bass

bass

Students receive instruction on the string bass and in basic music theory essential to this exciting instrument. To encourage study and help get students up to speed on this critical orchestral instrument, the one-hour group lesson on Saturdays is complemented by the FREE loan of an instrument for the duration of the season and a complimentary package of 10 half-hour private lessons (TOTAL VALUE: $1750.) If numbers warrant it we will start a separate class for 7 to 9 year of age.

(Note: limited to six students; age 10 - 14).

Saturdays 10:00-11:00

Click here to learn more ...

Beginner Bassoon

bassoon

Students receive instruction on the bassoon and in basic music theory essential to this challenging instrument. To encourage study and help get students up to speed on this critical orchestral instrument, the one-hour group lesson on Saturdays is complemented by the FREE loan of an instrument for the duration of the season and a complimentary package of 10 half-hour private lessons (TOTAL VALUE: $1750.)

(Note: limited to six students; age 10 - 14).

Saturdays 9:00-10:00

Click here to learn more ...

Beginner French Horn

french horn

Students receive instruction on the horn and in basic music theory essential to this challenging instrument. To encourage study and help get students up to speed on this critical orchestral instrument, the one-hour group lesson on Saturdays is complemented by the FREE loan of an instrument for the duration of the season and a complimentary package of 10 half-hour private lessons (TOTAL VALUE: $1750.)

(Note: limited to six students; age 10-14).

Saturdays 10:00-11:00

Click here to learn more ...

Recorder Ensemble

recorders

This class introduces young students up to 10 years of age to the recorder. Preparation for children interested in winds/brass. Students must provide their own instruments.

Saturdays 10:00-11:00

Beginner Winds

winds

This one hour class is offered to children ages 8-11. Students will be able to choose group instruction on the flute, clarinet or oboe. This class is an excellent extension of the beginner recorder program, although it is not a prerequisite. Have fun learning a new instrument in an ensemble setting. Students must provide their own instruments.

Saturdays 8:40-9:40

Beginner Harp Ensemble

beginner harp

Ages 6-10. First ensemble experience. This one hour class is open to beginning harp students with no previous ensemble experience. To encourage study and help get students up to speed on this critical orchestral instrument, the one-hour group lesson on Saturdays is complemented by the FREE loan of an instrument for the duration of the season and a complimentary package of 10 half-hour private lessons (TOTAL VALUE: $1000.)

There are no audition requirements.

Saturdays 8:45-9:45

Limited to six students

OrKidstra

L'Orchestre symphonique d'Ottawa

Programmes d'introduction

Programmes d'introduction | Cordes | Vents | Harpe | Percussions
Juniors de l'Orchestre des jeunes d'Ottawa
Orchestre des jeunes d'Ottawa

Musique préscolaire I et II

pre school

Les classes s'adressant aux enfants de 3 et 4 ans visent à éveiller la créativité musicale et la confiance chez les bambins, grâce à des chansons, des jeux, des activités motrices et l'utilisation d'instruments rythmiques.

Ce programme s'adresse aux enfants de 3 ans. Le programme s'appuie sur la musicalité naturelle de l'enfant et éveille sa curiosité envers les expériences musicales, favorisant son appréciation de la musique. Le programme Musique préscolaire II s'adresse aux enfants de 4 ans et est la continuité de Musique préscolaire I, avec des activités musicales plus difficiles et une plus grande appréciation de la musique. (Remarque : maximum de 10 enfants par classe.)

Musique préscolaire I : Samedi, 11 h – 12 h
Musique préscolaire II : Samedi, 9 h 45 – 10 h 45

Musique préparatoire I

prep music I

Ce programme vise à éveiller la curiosité et à élargir l'expérience des jeunes enfants d'âge scolaire et préscolaire (5 ans) par les chansons, les jeux, les ensembles rythmiques, la notation musicale et l'histoire de la musique.

Musique préparatoire I est la continuation de Musique préscolaire II. Les enfants de 5 ans affinent leurs connaissances musicales et leurs aptitudes à utiliser la parole, le rythme, les instruments de percussion et la gestuelle.

(Remarque : maximum de 10 enfants par classe.)

Samedi, 10 h – 11 h

Musique préparatoire II

prep 2

Les fondements de la musique sont enseignés par le chant, la parole, le rythme, le mouvement et l'improvisation. Ce cours convient particulièrement aux enfants (6-8 ans) intéressés à étudier plus tard un instrument de musique. On y enseigne également les rudiments nécessaires pour participer à des ensembles musicaux.

Musique préparatoire II est une autre étape du programme « d'initiation précoce ». Ce programme fournit aux élèves de 6-8 ans des défis passionnants et des occasions de découverte, dans la même veine que Musique préparatoire I, mais avec une pratique plus avancée de la musique.

(Remarque : maximum de 10 enfants par classe.)

Samedi, 11 h – 12 h

Cordes pour débutants

beginner strings

Ce programme initie les enfants de 6-7 ans et de 8-12 ans aux instruments à cordes et explore les éléments de base de la musique par le chant, la parole et le mouvement. Chaque élève doit avoir son propre instrument.

(Remarque : maximum de 6 étudiants par classe.)

Samedi, 8 h 40 – 9 h 40

Contrebasse pour débutants

bass

Les élèves apprennent la contrebasse ainsi que les bases théoriques nécessaires à cet instrument passionnant. Afin d’encourager les élèves à pratiquer et de les aider à progresser rapidement sur cet instrument essentiel de l’orchestre, à la leçon de groupe d’une heure du samedi s’ajoutent le prêt GRATUIT d’un instrument pour toute la saison et un ensemble de 10 leçons privées d’une demi-heure offertes à titre gracieux (VALEUR TOTALE : 1750 $). Si le nombre d’inscrits le permet un autre cours pourra être ouvert pour des élèves de 7 à 9 ans.

(Remarque : maximum de 6 étudiants par classe.)

Samedi, 10 h – 11 h

Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici...

Basson pour débutants

Basson pour débutants

Programme d'introduction au basson et à la théorie musicale de base essentielle pour maîtriser cet instrument réputé difficile.Afin d’encourager les élèves à pratiquer et de les aider à progresser rapidement sur cet instrument essentiel de l’orchestre, à la leçon de groupe d’une heure du samedi s’ajoutent le prêt GRATUIT d’un instrument pour toute la saison et un ensemble de 10 leçons privées d’une demi-heure offertes à titre gracieux (VALEUR TOTALE : 1750 $).

(Remarque : maximum de 6 étudiants par classe; 10 à 14 ans).

Samedi, 9 h – 10 h

Pour en savoir plus...

Cor d'harmonie pour débutants

Cor d'harmonie pour débutants

Les étudiants apprennent les rudiments du cor d'harmonie et la théorie musicale de base essentielle pour maîtriser cet instrument plutôt... coriace.Afin d’encourager les élèves à pratiquer et de les aider à progresser rapidement sur cet instrument essentiel de l’orchestre, à la leçon de groupe d’une heure du samedi s’ajoutent le prêt GRATUIT d’un instrument pour toute la saison et un ensemble de 10 leçons privées d’une demi-heure offertes à titre gracieux (VALEUR TOTALE : 1750 $).

(Remarque : maximum de 6 étudiants; 10 ans à 14 ans).

Samedi, 10 h – 11 h

Pour en savoir plus...

Flûtes à bec

recorders

Cet Ensemble initie les jeunes, jusqu'à 10 ans, à la flûte à bec. C'est une excellente préparation pour les enfants intéressés par les vents et les cuivres. Chaque élève doit avoir son propre instrument.

Samedi, 10 h 00 – 11 h 00

Vents pour débutants

winds

Ce cours de groupe d’une heure est offert aux enfants de 8 à 11 ans. Les élèves auront le choix entre la flûte, la clarinette ou le hautbois. Ce cours est un prolongement naturel du cours de flûte à bec pour débutants, bien qu’il ne soit pas nécessaire de l’avoir suivi. Les enfants auront du plaisir à apprendre un nouvel instrument dans le cadre d’un ensemble musical. Chaque élève doit avoir son propre instrument.

Samedi, de 8 h 40 à 9 h 40

Harpe pour débutants

beginner harp

Pour les 6 à 10 ans. Première expérience d'ensemble. Cette classe d’introduction à la harpe, d'une demi-heure, s’adresse aux enfants qui n’ont aucune expérience de musique d'ensemble. Afin d’encourager les élèves à pratiquer et de les aider à progresser rapidement sur cet instrument essentiel de l’orchestre, à la leçon de groupe d’une heure du samedi s’ajoutent le prêt GRATUIT d’un instrument pour toute la saison et un ensemble de 10 leçons privées d’une demi-heure offertes à titre gracieux (VALEUR TOTALE : 1000 $).

Aucune audition n’est requise.

Samedi, de 8 h 45 à 9 h 45

Maximum de six étudiants