OrKidstra

Ottawa Symphony Orchestra

Programs for Wind Instruments

Introductory | Strings | Winds | Harp | Percussion
Ottawa Junior Youth Orchestra | Ottawa Youth Orchestra

Recorder Ensemble

recorders

This class introduces young students up to 10 years of age to the recorder. Preparation for children interested in winds/brass, and ideal for children who have completed Preparatory music II. Students must provide their own instruments.

Saturdays 10:00-11:00

Beginner Winds

winds

This one hour class is offered to children ages 8-11. Students will be able to choose group instruction on the flute, clarinet or oboe. This class is an excellent extension of the beginner recorder program, although it is not a prerequisite. Have fun learning a new instrument in an ensemble setting. Students must provide their own instruments.

Saturdays 8:45-9:45

Beginner Bassoon

bassoon

Students receive instruction on the bassoon and in basic music theory essential to this challenging instrument. To encourage study and help get students up to speed on this critical orchestral instrument, the one-hour group lesson on Saturdays is complemented by the FREE loan of an instrument for the duration of the season and a complimentary package of 10 half-hour private lessons (TOTAL VALUE: $1750.)

Saturdays 9:00-10:00

Click here to learn more ...

Beginner French Horn

french horn

Students receive instruction on the horn and in basic music theory essential to this challenging instrument. To encourage study and help get students up to speed on this critical orchestral instrument, the one-hour group lesson on Saturdays is complemented by the FREE loan of an instrument for the duration of the season and a complimentary package of 10 half-hour private lessons (TOTAL VALUE: $1750.) (Note: limited to five students; age 10-14).

Saturdays 10:00-11:00

Click here to learn more ...

Junior Chamber Wind Ensemble

winds

Provides the student's first exposure to ensemble-playing. Playing level equivalent to at least Royal Conservatory of Music (RCM) Grade 1.

Saturdays 8:45-9:45

Junior Brass Ensemble

junior brass

Provides the student's first exposure to ensemble-playing. Playing level at least one year of experience on their instrument.

Saturdays 9:30-11:00

Intermediate Brass Ensemble

ingtermediate brass

The Intermediate Brass ensemble provides the more experienced brass players one more level of pure brass ensemble-playing before moving on to mixed ensembles. Playing level 2-3 years of experience on their instrument

Saturdays 11:15-12:45

Intermediate Chamber Wind Ensemble

intermediate chamber winds

Provides young woodwind and brass players with the opportunity to further develop their ensemble skills in a small chamber group setting. Playing level equivalent to at least RCM Grade Levels 2-6.

Saturdays 10:00-12:00

Senior Chamber Wind Ensemble

senior chamber winds

Provides advanced woodwind and brass players with the opportunity to further develop their skills as ensemble musicians through the study of wind chamber music. Performance experience is enhanced through concerts in the community. Playing level equivalent to at least RCM Grade Levels 7-10.

Saturdays 10:00-12:00

OrKidstra

L'Orchestre symphonique d'Ottawa

Programmes des vents

Programmes d'introduction | Cordes | Vents | Harpe | Percussions
Juniors de l'Orchestre des jeunes d'Ottawa
Orchestre des jeunes d'Ottawa

Flûtes à Bec

recorders

Cet Ensemble initie les jeunes, jusqu’à 10 ans, à la flûte à bec. C’es une excellente préparation pour les enfants intéressés par les vents et les cuivres, et qui ont déjà complété le programme Musique préparatoire II. Chaque élève doit avoir son propre instrument.

Samedi, 10 h – 11 h

Vents pour débutants

winds

Ce cours de groupe d’une heure est offert aux enfants de 8 à 11 ans. Les élèves auront le choix entre la flûte, la clarinette ou le hautbois. Ce cours est un prolongement naturel du cours de flûte à bec pour débutants, bien qu’il ne soit pas nécessaire de l’avoir suivi. Les enfants auront du plaisir à apprendre un nouvel instrument dans le cadre d’un ensemble musical. Chaque élève doit avoir son propre instrument.

Samedi, 8 h 45 – 9 h 45

Basson pour débutants

bassoon

Programme d'introduction au basson et à la théorie musicale de base essentielle pour maîtriser cet instrument réputé difficile. Afin d’encourager les élèves à pratiquer et de les aider à progresser rapidement sur cet instrument essentiel de l’orchestre, à la leçon de groupe d’une heure du samedi s’ajoutent le prêt GRATUIT d’un instrument pour toute la saison et un ensemble de 10 leçons privées d’une demi-heure offertes à titre gracieux (VALEUR TOTALE : 1750 $).

Samedi, 9 h – 10 h

Pour en savoir plus...

Cor d'harmonie pour débutants

french horn

Les étudiants apprennent les rudiments du cor d'harmonie et la théorie musicale de base essentielle pour maîtriser cet instrument plutôt... coriace. Afin d’encourager les élèves à pratiquer et de les aider à progresser rapidement sur cet instrument essentiel de l’orchestre, à la leçon de groupe d’une heure du samedi s’ajoutent le prêt GRATUIT d’un instrument pour toute la saison et un ensemble de 10 leçons privées d’une demi-heure offertes à titre gracieux (VALEUR TOTALE : 1750 $).

Samedi, 10 h – 11 h

Pour en savoir plus...

Vents juniors

winds

Les jeunes musiciens ont leur premier contact avec le jeu d'ensemble. Équivaut au niveau 1 du RCM.

Samedi, 8 h 45 – 9 h 45

Cuivres juniors

junior brass

Les jeunes musiciens ont leur premier contact avec le jeu d'ensemble. Niveau d'instrument requis: au moins un an d'expérience.

Samedi, 9 h 30 – 11 h

Cuivres intermédiaire

ingtermediate brass

L’ensemble de cuivres intermédiaire offre aux joueurs plus expérimentés un niveau supplémentaire de pratique d’ensemble avec uniquement des cuivres, avant de passer à des ensembles mixtes. Niveau requis : 2-3 ans d’expérience avec l’instrument.

Samedi, 11 h 15 – 12 h 45

Vents intermédiaires

jumior chamber winds

Les jeunes joueurs d'instruments à vent – bois et cuivre – ont l'occasion de perfectionner leurs habiletés de jeu dans le cadre d'un petit orchestre de chambre. Équivaut aux niveaux 2 à 6 du RCM.

Samedi, 10 h – 12 h

Vents seniors

senior chamber winds

Cet ensemble permet aux joueurs de bois et de cuivres plus avancés de développer davantage leurs compétences au sein d'un orchestre de chambre, grâce à l'étude de la musique de chambre pour instruments à vent. Les musiciens ont l'occasion de jouer en concert dans la collectivité, ce qui leur permet d'acquérir une bonne expérience orchestrale. Équivaut aux niveaux 7 à 10 du RCM.

Samedi, 10 h – 12 h