OrKidstra

Ottawa Symphony Orchestra

Beginner Bassoon

Introductory | Strings | Winds | Harp | Percussion
Ottawa Junior Youth Orchestra | Ottawa Youth Orchestra

bassoon close up

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia: The bassoon is a woodwind instrument in the double reed family that typically plays music written in the bass and tenor registers, and occasionally higher. Appearing in its modern form in the 1800s, the bassoon figures prominently in orchestral, concert band, and chamber music literature. The bassoon is a non-transposing instrument known for its distinctive tone color, wide range, variety of character, and agility. Listeners often compare its warm, dark, reedy timbre to a male baritone voice.

oyo

The Class:

The OYOA offers Beginner Bassoon students instruction on the bassoon and in the basic music theory essential to this challenging instrument. Classes are small - limited to six students, age 10 - 14.

The Bassoon:

Students in this course may borrow a bassoon for the OYOA school year for their personal use (see the OYOA instrument loan policy).

When:

The Academy provides a high-quality instrument at no cost for each student through our instrument loan program (see OYOA loan policy). To ensure that students have a solid grasp of the fundamentals of the instrument, in addition to the group lesson each week, the Academy subsidizes 25 mandatory private, half-hour lessons. 25 lessons would normally cost $750, but under this program, the cost is only $450, paid in two equal installments of $225 by post-dated cheque at the first meeting (the cost of these private lessons is in addition to the tuition for the group lessons.)

Where:

All classes are held at the Ottawa Technical Learning Centre, at 485 Donald St., Ottawa.

Performance Opportunities:

Each year, the Beginner Bassoon class performs in free concerts at the OYOA. As well, other performance opportunities occasionally arise.

mini concert

Where Can I Go From Here?

After a year in Beginner Bassoon, many students progress to the Intermediate Chamber Wind Ensemble, where they perform with other wind instruments such as flute, clarinet, oboe and saxophone. Qualified bassoonists are an important asset to many chamber groups and symphony orchestras.

ojyo

Audition Requirements:

There are no audition requirements for this ensemble. It is assumed that participants are new to the instrument, and new to reading music.

<<- Back

OrKidstra

L'Orchestre symphonique d'Ottawa

Beginner Bassoon

Programmes d'introduction | Cordes | Vents | Harpe | Percussions
Juniors de l'Orchestre des jeunes d'Ottawa
Orchestre des jeunes d'Ottawa

bassoon close up

D'après Wikipédia, l’encyclopédie libre : Le basson est un instrument à vent à anches doubles qui joue en général dans les registres basse et ténor, et à l’occasion dans les registres plus aigus. Apparu dans sa forme moderne dans les années 1800, le basson est très présent dans la musique pour orchestre et pour fanfare et dans la musique de chambre. Le basson est un instrument non transpositeur connu pour son timbre caractéristique, son registre étendu, son caractère particulier et son agilité. Lorsque l’on entend le timbre chaud, sombre et flûté du basson, on le compare souvent à une voix d’homme baryton.

oyo

Le cours:

L’AOJO propose aux élèves de Basson pour débutants un enseignement du basson et des bases théoriques musicales essentielles pour cet instrument exigeant. Les classes sont à effectif réduit avec un maximum de 6 élèves âgés de 10 à 14 ans.

Le basson:

Les élèves de cette classe peuvent emprunter un basson pour la durée de la saison de l’AOJO pour leur utilisation personnelle (voir le règlement de l’AOJO concernant les prêts d’instruments).

Quand:

A la leçon de groupe d’une heure chaque samedi matin s’ajoute une leçon privée GRATUITE de 30 minutes chaque semaine.

Où:

Toutes les classes ont lieu à l’OTSS (Ottawa Technical Secondary School) situé au 485 rue Donald à Ottawa.

Concerts:

Chaque année, la classe de basson pour débutants se produit lors des concerts gratuits de l’AOJO. De plus, d’autre occasions de jouer en public peuvent être proposées.

mini concert

Et après ?

Après une année dans le groupe de bassons pour débutants, la plupart des élèves sont admis dans l’ensemble de musique de chambre Vents intermédiaires, où ils jouent avec d’autres instruments à vent comme la flûte, la clarinette, le hautbois et le saxophone. Les bons bassonistes sont recherchés par de nombreux ensembles de musique de chambre et orchestres symphoniques.

ojyo

Audition Requirements:

Il n’y a pas d’audition pour cet ensemble, qui s’adresse à des musiciens débutants qui n’ont d’expérience ni avec l’instrument ni avec la lecture de la musique.

<<- Back