OrKidstra

Ottawa Symphony Orchestra

About Us

Our goal is to provide youth in the Ottawa region with a continuum of high-quality orchestral and ensemble training and performance opportunities at an affordable cost in a supportive musical environment.

logo

The Ottawa Youth Orchestra Academy (OYOA) is a registered non-profit, charitable organization run by a volunteer Board of Directors, committed parents and individuals. Our conductors, coaches and teachers are some of Ottawa's leading professional musicians.

OYOA students are inspired, encouraged and challenged to build their musical skills and talents through creative learning environments and rewarding performance opportunities...

  • . Peer Support
  • . Skills achievement
  • . Artistic development
  • . Performance experience

The Academy comprises two full orchestras, eight instrumental ensembles for strings, winds, brass and harp, a beginner's and pre-school program, and instruction in music theory and history through Grade 3 in the RCM Syllabus. Over the past years, these programs have shown increasing enrollment, reaching over 300 students. Furthermore, members of our Ottawa Youth Orchestra regularly qualify for the National Youth Orchestra of Canada.

History in Brief

The first Ottawa Youth Orchestra was established in 1960, a time of rapid growth in the youth orchestra movement internationally. The OYO operated successfully until the late 1970s when it began to experience difficulties in finding enough string players. It performed its last concert in 1980. [History of the Original OYO]

The lack of ensemble training opportunities for young string players in the region did not go unnoticed.

In 1982, John Gomez and colleagues from the National Arts Center Orchestra founded the National Capital String Academy to address this need. The National Capital Wind Academy was formed in 1985 to provide similar opportunities to wind and brass players. The two groups merged in 1986 as the National Capital Strings and Wind Academy, and re-established the Ottawa Youth Orchestra which had been dormant for six years.

The organization was incorporated as the National Capital Music Academy in 1988, and has gradually broadened its program over the years to become one of the most comprehensive of its kind in Canada.

As it entered its twenty-first year of operation under founding Music Director John Gomez, the National Capital Music Academy changed its corporate name to the Ottawa Youth Orchestra Academy (OYOA). The new name better reflects our goal to provide young people with orchestral training opportunities while also honouring our origins, which go back 50 years.

OrKidstra

L'Orchestre symphonique d'Ottawa

Qui sommes-nous?

Notre but est d’offrir aux jeunes de la région d’Ottawa une formation de haut niveau en jeu d’orchestre et d’ensemble, ainsi que l’occasion de jouer en concert, à un prix raisonnable et dans un milieu musical épanouissant.

logo

L’Académie des Orchestres des jeunes d’Ottawa (AOJO) est un organisme de charité enregistré, sans but lucratif, administré par un conseil d’administration bénévole, des parents et des particuliers dévoués. Nos chefs d’orchestre, nos moniteurs et nos enseignants comptent parmi les meilleurs musiciens professionnels d’Ottawa.

Les jeunes musiciens de l’AOJO reçoivent une formation qui les stimule, les inspire et les encourage à développer leurs aptitudes et leurs talents musicaux dans un milieu d’apprentissage stimulant, leur offrant maintes possibilités enrichissantes de performance sur scène.

  • • Appui des pairs
  • • Compétences techniques
  • • Développement artistique
  • • Occasions de jouer en public

L’Académie comprend maintenant deux orchestres complets, huit ensembles instrumentaux pour cordes, bois, cuivres et harpes. De plus, elle offre un programme pour débutants et enfants préscolaires, et des cours de théorie et d’histoire de la musique jusqu’au niveau 3 du Royal Conservatory of Music (RCM). Au cours des dernières années, la popularité de ces programmes n’a cessé de croître, attirant plus de 300 étudiants. De plus, les membres de notre Orchestre des Jeunes d’Ottawa se qualifient régulièrement pour jouer dans l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada.

Un bref historique

Le premier Orchestre des jeunes d’Ottawa a été établi en 1960, à une époque de croissance rapide dans le mouvement international des orchestres de jeunes. L’OJO a connu du succès jusqu’à la fin des années 1970, alors qu’il a commencé à éprouver des difficultés à recruter suffisamment de membres pour sa section des cordes. Son dernier concert a eu lieu en 1980.

L’absence de possibilités de formation en musique d’ensemble pour les jeunes instrumentistes à cordes dans la région n’est pas passée inaperçue.

En 1982, John Gomez et ses collègues de l’Orchestre du Centre national des arts ont fondé la National Capital String Academy afin de combler ce manque. La National Capital Wind Academy a été formée en 1985 pour offrir des possibilités similaires aux instrumentistes de bois et de cuivre. Les deux groupes ont fusionné en 1986 sous le nom de la National Capital Strings and Wind Academy, et ils ont remis sur pied l’Orchestre des jeunes d’Ottawa, inactif depuis six ans.

L’organisation a été constituée en société sous le nom d’Académie de musique de la Capitale nationale en 1988, et elle a progressivement élargi ses activités au fil des ans, devenant l’une des plus importantes académies de musique au Canada.

À l’aube de sa 21e année d’existence sous la gouverne de son directeur musical fondateur John Gomez, l’Académie de musique de la capitale nationale a changé son nom, pour adopter celui d’Académie des Orchestres des jeunes d’Ottawa (AOJO). Ce nouveau nom reflète mieux notre but : offrir aux jeunes l’occasion de jouer en concert, tout en honorant les origines de l’Académie qui remontent à 50 ans.